Dawn of War: Dark Crusade

I’ve been enjoying Dawn of War for some time now (since Winter Assault came out basically – Imperial Guard is my preference). This afternoon I got Dark Crusade, and, playing as Necrons, got mercilessly crushed by Chaos. Which is odd, seeing as Chaos has been the weak whipping race in previous versions. The AI, anyway. Maybe they improved it. Meh.

Anyway, onto the Guard for some Orc slaughtering. Always fun. The addition of heavy weapons teams was nice. I also appreciated them allowing you to build turrets whereever you like, instead of just in control zone areas.

Kasryns and Ogryns are limited to one squad of each, but then, the game’s usually more or less over well before I get a second squad of either into the fray.

For some reason, the game lasted long enough for me to build a Baneblade. My games rarely last long enough for me to finish one. And, even better, to get it into combat. Boom. Or maybe it was just because I changed strats a bit and started advancing my base earlier.

Guard squad size has increased too. You start with 5 guardsmen (instead of 4) and by filling up the squad (including a sergeant and a leader (commissar or priest)) you can get 14 soldiers to a unit (instead of 11). A nice touch.

Anyway, I’m overall happy with the additions to the game, and quite satisfied with the purchase. And I’ll probably make a point of playing against Necrons or Tau at some point.

If you’re interested, I also collect Imperial Guard in the real world. Well, technically I do anyway. I just haven’t added anything (or done terribly much painting for that matter) over the last couple of years. I’ve put up a photo of some of my favourite models. Apologies for the quality: it was taken with a webcam.

Leave a Reply

