Empire Earth II

I bought Empire Earth II today (it takes me a very long time to get around to these sorts of things, for which reason you might not want to rely on this too heavily for gaming reviews, unless you’re like me in being unlikely to buy a game until it’s on sale for 50% and you’re looking for something to keep you from doing anything constructive, like working on a certain utility program in wxWidgets). I’ve had a bit of a go at it, and while I haven’t seen a lot of it yet, I must say I’m quite fascinated by a few of its ideas. The war planner particularly, the Picture-in-Picture window, and the weather.

The controls seem a bit clunky, but that’s probably more unfamiliarity with them than anything else. I’m sure I’ll get the hang of them in the time I remain fascinated with those features before I finally go onto eBay and find a copy of Star Wars Galactic Battlegrounds, which is a game I enjoyed… indeed, enjoyed so much the CD was first worn out, then lost somewhere or other. Lost, before I got that resurfacing thingamawatsit (that was on sale too, albeit a while back). Hoorah for Age of Empires 2+planes! Heheheheh. But I’m getting off topic.

I’m honestly not sure if having played Rise of Nations helped or hindered… they were just similar enough for the controls to crash…

Come to think of it, I’m not sure what the topic ever was. I mean, this blog was supposedly about programming, it just didn’t turn out that way…

Leave a Reply

